Date and Apricot “Brownie” Balls

date balls `

For having a blog called “What Katie’s Baking,” I haven’t been doing much baking.  But, I’ve made a ton of amazing recipes lately, including a lot of tasty desserts (I won’t post the disgusting chocolate ice cream I tried making… fail).
My favorite thing about vegan desserts is how incredibly simple and healthy they (typically) are.  I’m amazed at how many good ones there are out there. I love being able to eat dessert for breakfast!

date balls 4

Date and Apricot “Brownie” Balls
Adapted from: Snack-Girl

Ingredients:
10 pitted dates
10 dried apricots
½ cup cashews
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (plus extra for rolling)
1 tablespoon agave nectar (or honey depending on your view on the bees ;))
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
2 tablespoons water
Directions:
1. Add all ingredients to food processor and pulse until ground.
2. Mix until it just forms a sticky mass.
3. Form dough into balls. (It may need more water to get to the perfect consistency).
4. Put a tablespoon of cocoa in a shallow bowl .

5. Roll balls in cocoa. (or just drop the balls straight into the cocoa can like me)
6. I like to store these in the freezer and eat them frozen…yum! Or you can keep them in the fridge for up to 1-2 weeks.

date balls 3

Leave a comment