Rice Krispie Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownies

5-12 071

My friend’s uncle drives a cereal truck, so anytime he gets cereal, everyone I live with gets it, too.

This time, we got Rice Krispies, so I wanted to do something creative with them.  (Don’t worry, I’ve also made rice krispie treats twice now.)

I found a recipe for Rice Krispie Chocolate Chip Cookies, used it, and took it to another level.  They turned out really good.  I wasn’t sure what to expect, but they tasted like brownies covered with crunchy chocolate chip cookies.  Weird, huh? 😉  My brains not doing so well with descriptions right now, I think it’s because I just finished FINALS!! Yay!!!

What’s your favorite recipe for Rice Krispies?

5-12 032

5-12 028

5-12 061

5-12 056

5-12 052

5-12 036

Rice Krispie Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownies

Adapted from: Rice Krispies and  All Recipes

Ingredients:

Cookies:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup rice krispies
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Brownies:

  • ½ cup oil
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • ½ cup flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp baking powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. First, make the cookie dough.  In large electric mixer bowl, beat together margarine and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg and beat well.
  3. Mix  flour, baking soda and salt into butter mixture  until combined. Stir in rice krispies and chocolate chips. Set aside.
  4. Then, make brownies.  In a medium bowl, mix together the oil, and sugar. Beat in eggs.
  5. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt; gradually stir into the egg mixture until well blended.
  6. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.  Drop cookie mixture evenly over the top of the brownie batter.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

5-12 042

11 thoughts on “Rice Krispie Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownies

  1. These sound delicious…. one question: How much cocoa powder do you use in the brownie part? Maybe I’m just not seeing it…

    Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hi, Kumie. Thank you so much for pointing that out to me. I can’t believe I forgot it! It’s fixed now… 1/3 cup cocoa powder!

      Like

Comments are closed.